The East African Community (EAC)

The East African Community (EAC) is a regional intergovernmental organisation of six Partner States, comprising Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda, with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania. Kenya is part of the EAC membership with 150 million citizens and a combined Gross Domestic Product of US$ 146 billion (EAC Statistics for 2016), its realisation bears great strategic and geopolitical significance and prospects for the renewed and reinvigorated EAC.

The work of the EAC is guided by its Treaty with the overall aim of widening and deepening co-operation among the Partner States in various key spheres for their mutual benefit. These spheres include political, economic and social.


Ethical Business Practice

There has been much attention in recent years to the issue of ethical business practice. In many contexts, consumers are clearly saying that the integrity of a business and a brand’s social purpose are among the factors that influence purchase decisions. Many businesses have also responded, recognising not only that ensuring the highest legal and…

The Business Environment in the East African Community

East Africa Community (EAC) Perspective With a population of more than 130 million and combined GDP of about USD $75 billion, EAC is one of the largest single-bloc regional markets in Africa. Market access is also increased through a series of mutually beneficial partnerships with other regional blocs such as COMESA (Common Market Eastern and…

East African Community (EAC) Overview

The East African Community (EAC) is an intergovernmental organisation composed of five countries in the African Great Lakes region in eastern Africa: Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda. The organisation was founded originally in 1967, collapsed in 1977, and was revived on July 7, 2000. In 2008, after negotiations with the Southern Africa Development Community…